LOGINJOIN



    

Reviews

3,698 reviews

Bombshell
Jack Anderson October 25, 2020, 12:10 ET

Interesting story
THE NEW WORLD
Bombshell tells the story of the transition from the old to the new world. The moment women started to tell the story and refused to be abused by powerful men. The movie tells the true story that took place at Fox News.

THREE ACTRESSES
The three leads, Charlize Theron, Nicole Kidman and Margot Robbie are just excellent. Charlize Theron is, through excellent makeup art, stunning. She is Megyn Kelly. Her attitude, everything about her tells the story.

UNINSPIRED FILMMAKING
The problem is that while the actresses are terrific, the film is not. The camera never decides what it wants to do and, therefore, does nothing. The constant fast zooms were really horrendous and made no sense to me.

Still, at the end of the day, the film is very interesting if you want to know what happened behind the scenes.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan
Jack Anderson October 22, 2020, 12:10 ET

Silly
Borat is a completely stupid film that is fun to watch but it ends there. I am not the type to be shocked, so I just smiled for most of the film and that was it. Moving on.


 
 
Street Fighter
Jack Anderson October 21, 2020, 12:10 ET

Great poster and horrible film
The year is 1994. I am a kid and love playing Super Street Fighter II on my Super Nintendo. I remember anxiously waiting for the release of the movie adaptation of Street Fighter. I was even collecting trading cards of the film, which actually were top notch! Because yes, the marketing campaign of that film was terrific. The movie logo is awesome. The poster is visually excellent. Jean-Claude Van Damme makes for an excellent choice and the look of the evil Bison character is truly excellent.

But obviously, it ends there. The movie is atrocious. Jean-Claude Van Damme simply doesn’t know how to act in this film. One of the worst performances I’ve ever seen. And today, 26 years later, I have seen my fair share of movies.

The story is not interesting and way too complex for a movie made for kids.

VERDICT
I give it 1 out of 10. Beyond bad.


 
 
Gattaca
Jack Anderson October 18, 2020, 12:10 ET

The future is now
1997, 2020 AND TOMORROW
I remember watching Gattaca back in the 90's. I loved that movie. More than twenty years later, this film still resonates today, if not more. Actually, much more.
The world of Gattaca is a world not far from 1997 and even less far from today (2020). I have a friend who recently had a baby. His wife and him had many doctors appointments and made countless tests, tests that weren't available just a few years ago. Obviously, as we move forward, we will get closer to the world of Gattaca, inch by inch, step by step.
In the world of Gattaca, the elites are genetically defined. The babies that did not get the chance to go through such medical system will grow into second grade citizens, confined to mundane work – namely becoming janitors while the elite will be able to dream and even travel through Space.

ATMOSPHERE
The score from Michael Nyman (The Piano) is bewitching. It creates an atmosphere on its own. I loved it. Yes, the theme is quite repetitive in its use, but it gives a very profound and also nostalgic aura to the film.

VERDICT
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 
Daylight
Jack Anderson October 18, 2020, 12:10 ET

Classic 90's action film
Released in 1996, Daylight is a classic 90's action film. Starring Sylvester Stallone, the movie takes place mostly in a tunnel. So, clearly, the question is, will this movie be able to sustain suspense for 2 hours with only one secluded location? The answer is yes.
In many ways, the tunnel is a character. The tunnel shouts, erupts, explodes and sends balls of fires as well as torrents of water. The great aspect of the film is its constant suspense and I must admit that it works well.

Of course, like in any big action movie from the 90's, characters are often doing crazy stupid things, such as when the lady is jumping and taking a gigantic power chord with her shoes, but hey, you have to accept it and everything goes well.

I really liked how the many characters were introduced. We could see each of their life separately and that added a lot of backstory. Also, the New York of the 90's is just sublime. The movie shot on film, the quality of the colors, really great.

The son of Stallone, the late Sage Stallone, played a character that I don't need to mention because you will easily recognize him, as he looks so like his father.

The budget of the film is also quite high and results in impressive special effects. The explosion from the beginning or (spoiler alert) the final explosion were both exciting scenes!

VERDICT
Of course, it's not a terrific film, it has downsides and is a classic example of a 90's action film. Therefore, I give it 4 out of 10. Really enjoyable. High 4 or low 5, as you prefer.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: End of the Line
Jack Anderson October 17, 2020, 12:10 ET

Nice season finale
I must admit, when I watched the first episode of this series, I was not impressed. But the characters grew on me as well as the story. I liked this season finale and did not expect this would be a multi-season series.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Last Day of Camp
Jack Anderson October 17, 2020, 12:10 ET

Impressed
I really enjoyed this episode. It was much better than many Jurassic Park sequels.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Welcome to Jurassic World
Jack Anderson October 17, 2020, 12:10 ET

Good
Okay, I know I shouldn't but I'm giving this episode a 5 instead of the 4 it probably deserves. I am falling for these characters and this is probably because I find the Jurassic Park/World island so fascinating. I know I'm a sucker.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Happy Birthday, Eddie!
Jack Anderson October 16, 2020, 12:10 ET

Not bad
But not good either.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Things Fall Apart
Jack Anderson October 16, 2020, 12:10 ET

Much better
This episode was much better and by far the best yet. Yes, the kids are still doing crazy stuff and it makes still no sense to keep young children on a deadly island with no supervision. But this episode added an emotional level to the show, through the flashback of the young boy and his ill father. That was very emotional and worked perfectly. Well done.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: The Cattle Drive
Jack Anderson October 5, 2020, 12:10 ET

Reckless
Okay, so the kids keep doing crazy dangerous things and the adults are not that shocked about it. Yeah, let’s let kids in the middle of a storm with deadly dinosaurs 🦖.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Secrets
Jack Anderson October 3, 2020, 12:10 ET

Not good
Not good. Still the same.


 
 
Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous: Camp Cretaceous
Jack Anderson October 3, 2020, 12:10 ET

Bad
The beginning with the video game was unappealing. Also, the story was ridiculous. Why sending kids to such a place screaming death at every corner?? I was not impressed. Really a product made for Netflix and for the masses. No sentiment of awe like with Jurassic Park.


 
 
24: 3:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 26, 2020, 12:09 ET

More action
More action than in the previous episode. I liked that even though there is little if any sense of subtlety.


 
 
24: 2:00 P.M.-3:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 26, 2020, 12:09 ET

Average
Lots of talks and not any action. I prefer 24 in action mode.


 
 
24: 1:00 P.M.-2:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 26, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Journey to the End of the Night
Jack Anderson September 24, 2020, 12:09 ET

Ca a débuté comme ça...
LE RIEN
Bardamu déteste tout et tout le monde. Rien ni personne n’a de grâce à ses yeux, à part le sexe et les animaux. Le reste n’est que pourriture, viande en décomposition. Ses supérieurs militaires, ses compagnes qui le quittent, ses médecins, même sa mère. Son dégoût est total et catégorique. Chemin faisant, il va aller voir ailleurs si l’herbe est plus verte. Il arrive donc enfin à s’extirper des affres de la guerre pour partir en Afrique mais n’y découvre qu’une moiteur infecte et des cris dans la nuit. Vaste programme. Il traverse donc, et malgré lui, l’Atlantique et découvre que les choses ne sont pas bien mieux aux Etats-Unis d’Amérique. Que reste-t-il ? Rien.

UNE AFFAIRE D’APPARTEMENT
Céline s’était déjà essayé au genre littéraire en écrivant une thèse de médecine dans un style littéraire. Le Voyage sera donc son premier roman. Au vu de la force et du talent de Céline, on imagine fort bien qu’il décida d’écrire ce roman par une envie pressante, un désir ardent d’écrire. Pas le moins du monde. Céline n’a pas une condition économique forte et se dit que peut-être, en écrivant un roman, et en en vendant assez, pourra-t-il se payer un appartement. Et puis il faut le dire, tout ce qui est écrit l’ennui. Il n’a, selon lui, pas de concurrence.

LE MACHIN
Je ne sais si Céline avait une haute estime de lui-même, mais ce qui est certain, c’est que Céline avait une haute opinion de son travail. Aussi haute que les étoiles que l’on devine, au-dessus des nuages sombrent qui peuplent son récit.
Le 14 avril 1932, Céline envoie son manuscrit à la N.R.F., « un récit romancé, dans une forme assez singulière et dont je ne vois pas beaucoup d’exemples dans la littérature en général. Je ne l’ai pas voulu ainsi. C’est ainsi. Il s’agit d’une manière de symphonie littéraire, émotive plutôt que d’un véritable roman. L’écueil du genre c’est l’ennui. Au point de vue émotif ce récit est assez voisin de ce qu’on obtient ou devrait obtenir avec de la musique. Cela se tient sans cesse aux confins des émotions et des mots, des représentations précises, sauf aux moments d’accents, eux impitoyablement précis.
D’où quantité de diversions qui entrent peu à peu dans le thème et le font chanter finalement comme en composition musicale. Tout cela demeure fort prétentieux et mieux que ridicule si le travail est raté. À vous d’en juger. Pour moi, c’est réussi. C’est ainsi que je sens les choses. Tant pis pour eux. »
En effet, pour être réussi, c’est réussi. Céline finit sa lettre par ces mots. « Tout cela est parfaitement amené. Je ne voudrais pour rien au monde que ce sujet me soye soufflé. C’est du pain pour un siècle entier de littérature. C’est le prix Goncourt 1932 dans un fauteuil pour l’Heureux éditeur qui saura retenir cette oeuvre sans pareil, ce moment capital de la nature humaine... »
Huit mois plus tard, Céline ratera le prix Goncourt. De peu, mais raté quand même. Mais, quatre-vingt-huit ans plus tard, ce machin reste aujourd’hui l’un des livres les plus appréciés de la littérature française. Et du monde aussi. Lorsqu’un impitoyable sondage est effectué, le Voyage termine toujours sa course dans les premiers, au chaud près de L’Etranger, A la recherche du temps perdu ou Les Misérables.

UN STYLE
Car ce roman a tout d’une bombe. Au littéral comme au figuré. A travers les premières pages de la guerre, les images sont si fortes que les émotions nous prennent à la gorge et à la gueule même. Musique !
« Quant au colonel, lui, je ne lui voulais pas de mal. Lui pourtant aussi il était mort. Je ne le vis plus, tout d’abord. C’est qu’il avait été déporté sur le talus, allongé sur le flanc par l’explosion et projeté jusque dans les bras du cavalier à pied, le messager, fini lui aussi. Ils s’embrassaient tous les deux pour le moment et pour toujours mais le cavalier n’avait plus sa tête, rien qu’une ouverture au-dessus du cou, avec du sang dedans qui mijotait en glouglous comme de la confiture dans la marmite. Le colonel avait son ventre ouvert, il en faisait une sale grimace. »

Ou plus simplement.

« Mon coeur au chaud, ce lapin, derrière sa petite grille des côtes, agité, blotti, stupide.
Quand on se jette d’un trait du haut de la Tour Eiffel on doit sentir des choses comme ça. On voudrait se rattraper dans l’espace. »

Ce lyrisme est digne des plus grand poètes et confère au roman une dimension poétique des plus sublime. La poésie reste confinée aux savants. Qui lit de la poésie ? Les gens s’ennuient. Ici, Céline fait ce tour de force incroyable de mêler une histoire, certes simple, avec la poésie.

« Musyne disparut avec les autres. Je l’ai attendue, chez nous, en haut, une nuit, tout un jour, un an... Elle n’est jamais revenue me trouver. »

Ainsi, le lecteur vit ce voyage et s’y plonge et voit et sent tout. Ca sent pas toujours bon, mais c’est réel.

« Les crépuscules dans cet enfer africain se révélaient fameux. On n’y coupait pas. Tragiques chaque fois comme d’énormes assassinats du soleil. Un immense chiqué. Seulement c’était beaucoup d’admiration pour un seul homme. Le ciel pendant une heure paradait tout giclé d’un bout à l’autre d’écarlate en délire, et puis le vert éclatait au milieu des arbres et montait du sol en trainées tremblantes jusqu’aux premières étoiles. Après ça le gris reprenait tout l’horizon et puis le rouge encore, mais alors fatigué le rouge et pas pour longtemps. Ça se terminait ainsi. Toutes les couleurs retombaient en lambeaux, avachies sur la forêt comme des oripeaux après la centième. Chaque jour sur les six heures exactement que ça se passait.
Et la nuit avec tous ses monstres entrait alors dans la danse parmi ses mille et mille bruits de gueules de crapauds.
La forêt n’attend que leur signal pour se mettre à trembler, siffler, mugir de toutes ses profondeurs. Une énorme gare amoureuse et sans lumière, pleine à craquer. Des arbres entiers bouffis de gueuletons vivants, d’érections mutilées, d’horreur. »

LA SOLITUDE ET LA HAINE
Que Céline l’ait voulu ou pas, le récit est hautement philosophique. Céline ne cesse les maximes. A tout bout de champ, ceux de batailles et les autres aussi. « Ainsi le mouton, sur le flanc, dans le pré, agonise et broute encore. La plupart des gens ne meurent qu’au dernier moment ; d’autres commencent et s’y prennent vingt ans d’avance et parfois d’avantage. Ce sont les malheureux de la terre. »

Les gens, y compris le narrateur, ne sont pour la plupart que des viandes. Il faut en attendre des pages avant de voir des personnages qui aient grâce aux yeux de Ferdinand Bardamu, le narrateur. Il faut attendre la page 159 pour être très précis, et que Alcide, son compagnon d’infortune en Afrique, ne lui explique qu’il prenait soin de sa nièce, en travaillant dur et en lui envoyant le maigre argent qu’il ne gagnât.

« Je ne savais pas quoi lui répondre moi, je n’étais pas très compétent, mais il me dépassait tellement par le cœur que j’en devins tout rouge... Â côté d’Alcide, rien qu’un mufle impuissant moi, épais, et vain j’étais... Y avait pas à chiquer. C’était net. »

Céline ne se donne pas le beau rôle, bien au contraire. Ce serait vulgaire. Son personnage est un oublié de Dieu, pour paraphraser Travis Buckle dans Taxi Driver. Les gens autour de lui sont des monstres, mais il réalise qu’il en est un lui également. Il a beau ne pas vouloir la guerre, il serait du genre à espérer un monde sans personne dessus. Et là encore il trouverait à redire.

Il a une sainte horreur de la guerre, et puis il se rend compte que le reste n’est guère mieux. La guerre et son guère mieux. Et puis rien d’autre. Alors il avance tout de même, dans un voyage au bout de la nuit.

SUR LA TABLE, LA PEAU
Céline ne cherche pas à créer une histoire nouvelle, il écrit ce qu’il connait. Pourquoi irait-il chercher une histoire ? Voici ce qu’il explique lors d’une interview télévisée :
« Des écrivains ne m’intéresse que les gens qui ont un style. S’ils n’ont pas de style, ils m’intéressent pas. Les histoires, y’en a plein la rue, n’est-ce pas, j’en vois partout des histoires ; plein les commissariats, plein les correctionnelles, plein votre vie, tout le monde a une histoire, n’est-ce pas, et mille histoires. »
Céline a vécu la guerre de 14, a voyagé dans la chaleur de l’Afrique, a connu l’amour à New York, la pauvre médecine en France. Et bien voici ce que racontera le roman. Il n’a pas la vulgarité de trouver « des histoires. »

VERDICT
Je donne la note de dix sur six à ce roman. Il y eut l’avant et l’après.


 
 
The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq
Jack Anderson September 20, 2020, 12:09 ET

UFO
This film is a complete UFO. An artistic take on the famous French author Michel Houellebecq. I wasn’t sure how it would be like, but I must admit the film is excellent. Sure, it’s definitely not for everyone, but I really enjoyed it.
Houellebecq may play his own role, but the authenticity he gives is really terrific.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 8
Jack Anderson September 17, 2020, 12:09 ET

Loved it!
What an excellent season finale. It is a shame that this season starts with such a bad episode, as the second season is very good. I just loved all the characters and how the writers properly closed each storyline. They care and that shows. And obviously, we need to have a third season where Maeve and Otis finally get together.

VERDICT
I give it 7 out of 10. Excellent.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 7
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Very good
Definitely, Sex Education is a good show. It is far from perfect but it is more than watchable. This episode proves that the second season is a success, even if two episodes were very bad. I really enjoyed the resolution of the bus story.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 6
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Loved it!
By far the best episode of the second season so far. I just loved everything about this episode. Every story was extremely interesting and executed beautifully.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 5
Jack Anderson September 16, 2020, 12:09 ET

Awful
This episode is awful. It goes straight with the bad season premiere. The story of Otis’ father was horrendous and not funny.


 
 
Hygiène de l'assassin
Jack Anderson September 15, 2020, 12:09 ET

Dialogues creux et trop plein à la fois
N’ayant lu que Stupeur et tremblements, je me lance dans la bibliographie d’Amélie Nothomb par le début. C’est à dire par Hygiène de l’assassin, un roman dont le titre alambiqué n’était pas pour me déplaire.

Malheureusement, dès les premières pages, ma réaction fut tout autre. Le style est difficilement déchiffrable, car il s’agit avant toute chose d’un livre de dialogues. Le célèbre écrivain Prétextat Tach est mourant. La presse s’agglutine donc autour de ce futur ancien Prix Nobel de littérature afin de recueillir ses dernières pensées. Déjà, le nom de l’auteur m’horripile au plus haut point. Prétextat Tach. Le drapeau rouge se lève et l’on sent déjà l’auteur réel qui impose son monde au lieu de l’écouter. L’auteur assène et dirige tel un architecte qui placerait des châteaux sur des rivières, pour peu que ça lui plaise.

Au-delà des aspects dirigeant, les dialogues ne m’ont guère plu. Les dialogues ne sont pas réalistes pour un sou et assez creux et trop plein à la fois, à l’image d’une calorie vide.

Il faut attendre précisément 135 pages avant d’avoir un seul élément un tant soit peu intéressant, à savoir la découverte du meurtre perpétré par Prétéxtat Tach. A partir de ce moment, le roman est bien plus intéressant, mais l’histoire tient plus à une fable qu’à un récit réaliste, et, ce faisant, enlève tout suspense et donc toute envie de lire, car le style n’est pas non plus au rendez-vous.

Au final, lire Hygiène de l’assassin fut une épreuve, un supplice heureusement court (220 pages).

Amélie Nothomb est un écrivain avec une vie romanesque qui écrit des romans sans intérêt.

VERDICT
Je donne à ce livre la note de deux sur dix. Très mauvais.


 
 
Cobra Kai: No Mercy
Gruic September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Addictive
Season 2 done, waiting for season 3.

Tt's objectively a great family show. By taking an interest in the defeated and how they have had to deal with it over the years, the writers offer a social panorama that will speak to parents and kids alike. Reusing the old-fashioned codes of the 80s, such as flashbacks and sound effects, but assuming them as a tribute, Cobra Kai manages to bridge the gap between the old and the new generation. Its main strength, episodes of only 30 minutes, is served by a more solid directing than the format's standards and even offers a long fight sequence shot in its latest episode. No doubt that this series will emulate the family exchanges between parents and teenagers, and just for that alone I will continue to support and watch it for its season 3.

You'll never be forgotten Mr Miyagi.


 
 
Scoob!
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Not good
The animation is horrible. As unimaginative as possible. The story makes no sense and is overly complex. The characters are not interesting. Really bad.

I much preferred the Scoobydo episodes I used to watch as a kid. There was often a simple but mysterious and interesting story. We would discover at the end who was the killer. Pretty much like an Agatha Christie novel.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 4
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Maeve and Otis
Once again a very good episode. Don't get fooled by the bad first episode of this second season, the episodes 3 and 4 are quite good.

I felt entirely for Maeve and Otis. The young actors are playing wonderfully.


 
 
Joyeux suicide et bonne année
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Joyeux suicide et bonne bite !
Joyeux suicide et bonne année !, c’est d’abord un titre. Un oxymore osé et gai qui m’a donné envie d’acheter ce petit livre.
Le contenu est similaire à son titre. Le livre est sans prétention aucune. Il raconte l’histoire d’une femme quarantenaire, sur qui la solitude pèse tant, qu’elle décide d’agender son suicide pour Noël. C’est décidé, elle va quitter cette Terre et, ce faisant, espère que son chagrin s’en ira également.
Mais c’était sans compter une amie qui lui conseille de voir un psy, qui va lui donner des devoirs entre chaque séance. Dépasser ses limites, prendre une décision osée. Sa nouvelle vie l’emmènera vers des chemins inédits.

L’histoire démarre donc d’une manière certes dramatique, mais l’auteure nous offre un personnage qui pense cru. La protagoniste n’a pas peur de penser les coups de bites qu’elle aimerait recevoir ou de nous décrire son épilation intégrale.
Ca donne au roman un souffle drôle et fort, mais de la même manière, dessert la force du propos. A-t-on vraiment envie de mourir quand on a un esprit aussi vif et espiègle ainsi qu’un compte en banque nouvellement fourni de près d’un demi-million d’euros – hérité de son père ?
Aussi, certains chapitres partent dans des chemins superflus et irréalistes, notamment son psy qui s’émeut de la voir se prendre d’émotion pour une SDF en train de succomber. Et ce que je n’ai pas non plus apprécié, c’est la rapidité de sa transformation. Il aura suffit d’une bite pour tout résoudre. Peut-être est-ce néanmoins la morale cachée du livre. All you need is love. Le roman aurait donc pu s’appeler Joyeux suicide et bonne bite !

Au final, un très bon divertissement sans prétention. Cela m’a rappelé le style de Nicole de Buron, mais en plus cru.

VERDICT
Je lui donne 5 sur 10. Bon. Il ne restera néanmoins pas dans ma bibliothèque.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 3
Jack Anderson September 13, 2020, 12:09 ET

Delicate
A delicate episode that I really enjoyed watching. The story of the bus was very well executed.

VERDICT
I give it 6 out of 10. Very good.


 
 
Chanson douce
Jack Anderson September 12, 2020, 12:09 ET

Superbe
"Chanson Douce" n'est que le second roman de Leïla Slimani, mais déjà, la jeune auteure montre ici tout son talent. J'ai apprécié notamment le style à la fois sobre et lyrique. Elle n'abuse pas des métaphores stylistiques et les use à bon escient et avec parcimonie.

Le livre est clairement un page turner et même si l'histoire est très simple, l'auteur tisse plusieurs fils à la fois, qui deviennent des comptes à rebours multiples. Il y a les parents qui commencent à douter de Louise et hésitent à s'en séparer, la petite Mila qui devient parfois une ennemie enfantine, la situation précaire de Louise, son petit appartement qui s'effrite et dont on comprend qu'elle en sera bientôt virée et enfin, la légère folie de Louise qui s'installe à mesure que le lecteur tourne les pages.

VERDICT
Je donne à ce livre la note de huit sur dix. Un superbe petit roman qui gagna le prix Goncourt 2016.


 
 
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair: How Does Your Garden Grow
Jack Anderson September 11, 2020, 12:09 ET

Horrendous
I waited eight years to finally see the adaptation of the great eponymous book La Vérité sur l'Affaire Harry Quebert. I expected it could easily make a bad movie. In this case, it's a bad series. But it's very, very bad.

HORRIBLE CASTING
The first thing that struck to mind is how bad the casting was. The actor playing Marcus Goldman is bad. I mean, really, really bad. Horrible. It is lightyears from the Marcus Goldman from the book.
And what about Harry Quebert? Choosing Patrick Dempsey felt totally out of place to me and it shows. He is not Harry Quebert. Far from it.

VERDICT
I give it 2 out of 10. Very bad.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 2
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
After the horrendous precedent episode, it's with a big relief that I discovered this one. Every storyline was interesting. A complete change. Much fewer caricatures (I said fewer).

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
24: 12:00 P.M.-1:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Resolution
I really enjoyed the resolution of the compound story. I am just a bit afraid that the series will no longer be that good after that. Let's see.


 
 
24: 11:00 A.M.-12:00 P.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Very good
Jack is now in the compound in a two-episode bang!


 
 
24: 10:00 A.M.-11:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 9:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 8:00 A.M.-9:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair
Jack Anderson September 10, 2020, 12:09 ET

A tour de force
La Vérité sur l'Affaire Harry Quebert is a fantastic book. Written by the Swiss athor Joël Dicker, the book is a complete tour de force.

The 850-page long book is telling the story of Harry Quebert, an American author that once fall in love with Nola, a 15-year old girl that disappeared mysteriously.

GOOD THRILLER
Dicker is using the best methods from the best thrillers. The scenes are short, going straight to the point, many cliffhangers, etc.

ORGANIZED MESS
But the book goes much further. The book keeps going from the present to the past to another present and yet another past. We keep learning more and more about the characters and the sub-stories and everything makes perfect sense, even though we keep going in many directions. Like a growing spiral, the author keeps raising the bar and the tension for 850 pages, I am simply amazed by how such a young author could deliver such structure knowing that this is only his second book.

But it doesn't end there yet...

A BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK WITHIN THE BOOK
To seal the deal, Dicker puts the final touch that makes the book from great to superb. There is the book within the book. Marcus Goldberg, the protagonist, is writing the book of the affair in front of our eyes. But in doing so, Goldberg tells the story of Dicker too, as they are both writing their second novel.
- SPOILER ALERT -
But it keeps getting more complex, there is then, at the very end of the book, another book. And also a book that was not written by its supposed author. And ultimately yet another book that was written by someone else. In many ways, this is the story of five separate books:
- The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, by Joël Dicker
- The Harry Quebert Affair, by Marcus Goldberg
- The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, by Marcus Goldberg
- The Origins of Evil, by Luther Caleb (released as Harry Quebert)
- The Seagulls of Aurora, by Harry Quebert (released as Luther Caleb)

HARD WORK
That, my friends, is some serious hard work. And this tells overall that writing a book is not about drinking alcohol and writing in the middle of the night. It's about hard work. And Joël Dicker did the work.

VERDICT
I give it 8 out of 10. Superb.


 
 
Sex Education: Episode 1
Jack Anderson September 8, 2020, 12:09 ET

Parody of itself
I enjoyed the first season, but did not like this season premiere at all. It was a parody of itself. The characters were caricatures and gone is the seriousness of the show.

VERDICT
I give it 3 out of 10. Bad.


 
 
Cobra Kai: Ace Degenerate
Gruic August 31, 2020, 12:08 ET

Smart
It was impossible to create a sequel to the hit movie Karate Kid. So they did.

The format is fresh and practical, synthetic but not shortened. Each scene tells something and skillfully (re)poses the characters.

Astonishing.


 
 
Tenet
Jack Anderson August 28, 2020, 12:08 ET

Ambitious James Bond time-travel film
Three years after Dunkirk, revolutionary filmmaker Christopher Nolan is back with Tenet, a story I would really struggle to explain here. But let me try anyway.
The Protagonist is a character that tries to unveil an evil plot of a man trying to destroy the entire world with a secret weapon using time. I know.
In many ways, this is a classic Nolan film. It has a very complex plot based on a scifi element that is believable (manipulating dreams in Inception) and uses time as a mechanism throughout the film (see Memento, Interstellar and Dunkirk).
Does it work? It does and it doesn't. On one side, the movie is a jaw-dropping delight for any Nolan fan like I am. After about sixty seconds into the film, I looked at my girlfriend with a gigantic smile on my face. I am in heaven. The scope, the tension, the soundtrack, the seriousness, everything is here.
But there is one side that doesn't truly work. I think the duo of John David Washington and Robert Pattinson is terrific, but not magical, like many classic duos are. The main flaw of the film is quite the same as the one from Inception. The characters are almost like taken from a Gucci advertisement and you cannot really truly care for them. I believe Nolan should add a touch of emotion in some of his films such as here. We focus too much on the action and little on the emotional journey of the protagonists.
But still, don't get me wrong, watching this film was a complete delight.

TIME TRAVEL
There is time travel and then there's time travel. When I waited one year to see the second half of Avengers: Endgame, I felt deeply disappointed. All this time waited for a classic time-travel story? The characters basically go back in the past to fix the future and voilà? How lame. How classic. How unimaginative.
Here, it is exactly the contrary. Nolan is giving the audience such a dense material that you can only wonder about many elements of the film. To be quite blunt, I only understood part of it. Like one of the secondary characters mentioned, "Don’t try to understand it, feel it." She basically talked to the audience. And I went along with it. And I darn loved it.

KENNETH BRANAGH
After an excellent interpretation in Dunkirk, Kenneth Branagh is back in a new Nolan film. The actor was totally unrecognizable. He felt like the ultimate James Bond vilain. He went places I have rarely seen an actor going when playing an evil character. I loved how Nolan pushed the boundaries and crossed the yellow line.

AMBITION
Most importantly, the film is ambitious. You can dislike Christopher Nolan, but you cannot deny the level of ambition he goes for in his work. He doesn't just produce an action movie, he goes the distance and put the time and effort. Actually, he even put time in his script.

VERDICT
I do not know if I want to give this film 7 or 8. I will give it 8 because I am such a big fan of Nolan and because of how ambitious the film was.


 
 
24: 7:00 A.M.-8:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 17, 2020, 12:08 ET

Thrilling!
The show's concept is simply thrilling! In this episode, Senator Palmer is doing a speech and this episode is so entertaining that it could easily have been a season finale on its own.


 
 
24: 6:00 A.M.-7:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 17, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
I understand why people loved this series so much. It is very addictive.


 
 
24: 5:00 A.M.-6:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 16, 2020, 12:08 ET

Fun
The episode is fun and entertaining! I was shocked to discover that (spoiler alert) the father of that girl is not who we think he was.


 
 
24: 4:00 A.M.-5:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 15, 2020, 12:08 ET

More interesting
This episode was a bit more interesting than its predecessor. I really like the concept of the show and it shines here.


 
 
24: 3:00 A.M.-4:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 13, 2020, 12:08 ET

Interesting
Worth watching. Or so...


 
 
Billions: Dead Cat Bounce
Jack Anderson August 13, 2020, 12:08 ET

Mmh
At the beginning of a new season, I feel already a rising boredom. Sure, the new androgynous character is fun and fresh, but the rivality between Chuck and Axelrod cannot continue for so long. This is not interesting anymore.

VERDICT
I give it 4 out of 10. Average.


 
 
24: 2:00 A.M.-3:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
24: 1:00 A.M.-2:00 A.M.
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Good
Good.


 
 
Billions: Risk Management
Jack Anderson August 12, 2020, 12:08 ET

Renewed energy
After a second part of the first season a bit boring, Billions is back with some renewed energy. But I'm not sure how long this will last. I'm still unclear on how we can have years and years about a confrontation between Axelrod and Chuck. I'd much rather want to see a new story.

I really enjoyed the new character played by Asia Kate Dillon. I discovered this person in an Apple TV+ LGBT documentary and couldn't wait to see her role in Billions. Something is telling me we'll see more of her and I am looking forward to that. There is something fascinating about her. Because she's different and I like that in a movie.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 
Billions: The Conversation
Jack Anderson August 11, 2020, 12:08 ET

Confrontation
A nice season finale ending with a nice confrontation. My only concern is that it's been 12 hours that we see those two characters (Chuck and Axe) going at each other. It already starts to become boring and I hope we won't go another full season on it.

Psychologically, the joke is actually on Chuck. Because by focusing his entire energy on Axe, he empowers him to destroy his own life.

VERDICT
I give it 5 out of 10. Good.


 
 


Next >

Series

All Series
Trending Series
TV Quotes
My Series

Movies

All Movies
Coming Soon
Watch Free Movies
Oscar Best Pictures
Movies Quotes
My Movies
Watchlist

Stars

All Stars
Hottest Stars
Stars Quotes
Born Today

Community

Comments
Reviews
Lists
Members
Shop
Why Join?

Contact tvore   Terms and Conditions   Privacy Policy   Copyright © 2020 tvore